National Entrance cum Eligibility Test is an entrance exam of medical courses like MBBS and BDS, applicable for private as well as government and medical colleges. It replaced AIPMT (All India Pre-Medical Test) and is conducted by Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE). All the details regarding the eligibility criteria of NEET 2018 had been clarified by the Medical Council of India (MCI) on April 24, 2018. It is the single entrance examination in the country for admissions to MBBS and BDS programmes in 11 different languages from 2018 onwards. The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test for Under Graduation (NEET-UG) has been conducted in offline mode on May 6, 2018.

NEET 2018 Eligibility Criteria

The eligibility criteria for NEET are prepared by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE). It has been revised as per the interim orders passed by the Delhi High Court on April 26, 2018. The eligibility criteria include academic qualifications, age limit, residency status and other requirements that must be fully met by all candidates appearing for the NEET entrance exam.

  • The candidates following in the category of upper age limit will not be allowed to seek admissions through NEET 2018 according to the Delhi High Court judgment passed on May 11, 2018.
  • The candidates from NIOS/Open Schools have been declared eligible for NEET 2018.
  • Candidate belonging to Nationality-Indian Nationals, NRIs, OCIs, PIOs& Foreign Nationals can appear for the NEET 2018.
  • The minimum age limit for the candidates belonging to all categories is 17 years as on December 31, 2018.
  • The maximum age limit for students belonging to the general category is 25 years as on December 31, 2018.
  • The maximum age limit for the students belonging to the reserved category is 30 years as on December 31, 2018.
  • Students must have passed class 12 board exams or an equivalent exam from a recognized board with at least five mandatory subjects like Physics, Chemistry, Biology, English and an elective subject.
  • Students who are appearing for board exams in the year 2018 are eligible to take NEET 2018.
  • Students who have appeared for class 12 exams in 2017 and appearing for an improvement exam in 2018 are eligible to apply for NEET 2018.
  • Candidates who have appeared for class 12 exams in 2016 and have taken improvement exam in 2017 can mention the year of the exam with a better score.
  • Now, there is no limit on the permitted number of attempts age criteria permitting.
  • The qualifying marks for the categories- UR is 50%, OBC/SC/ST is 40%, PWD is 45% (minimum aggregate marks only for PCB subjects).

It is important for all the NEET aspirants to check the NEET 2018 Eligibility Criteria carefully before applying for the entrance examination.

NEET 2018 Exam Pattern

This NEET 2018 exam pattern will help the aspirants to process the information and prepare well before appearing for the entrance exam.

1. Mode of Examination- Offline (Pen and Paper)
2. Duration of Examination- 3 hours
3. Medium of Exam- English, Hindi, Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Marathi, Tamil, Telugu, Oriya, Kannada and Urdu.
4. Type of Questions- Multiple Choice Questions
5. Total Sessions- 1)Physics – 45 Questions, 2) Chemistry – 45 Questions, 3) Biology – 90 Questions
6. Total Number of Questions- 180 Questions
7. Total Marks of Examination- 720 Marks
8. Marking Scheme – For each correct answer, the candidates will be awarded 4 marks; if an answer is wrong, then 1 mark will be deducted.

For further new instruction and updates visit its official website.